Governance Board

BRNZ’s Governance Board oversees and advises the Co-Directors on strategy, training and leadership development, community and Māori engagement, international collaboration, and on matters of policy, administration and funding.

The Board is made up of highly regarded members of the community and tertiary sector who hold significant expertise in areas of relevance to our strategic outcomes.

Sir Don McKinnon, ONZ, GCVO

Former Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs, former Secretary General of the Commonwealth of Nations, Current Chair of the NZ China Council

Mr Tony Offen, BA

Dunedin accountant, entrepreneur and council member of Neurological Foundation of NZ

Mrs Wendy Fleming, CRSNZ

Chair of Alzheimer’s New Zealand Charitable Trust, Honorary Vice President of Alzheimer’s Disease International, Past-Chair Alzheimer’s New Zealand

The Venerable Lloyd Nau Popata

Archdeacon of Tamaki Makaurau, Pou Tikanga - of Ngāti Kahu of Northland

Professor Jim Metson, BSc, PhD, FNZIC, MAIME, MRSNZ

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research, University of Auckland

Professor Richard Blaikie, BSc (Hons), PhD

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research, University of Otago

Professor Ian Wright, BSc (Hons), PhD

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research, University of Canterbury

Professor Richard Barker, BSc (Hons), PhD

Pro-Vice Chancellor, Division of Sciences, University of Otago

Professor John Fraser, BSc (Hons), PhD, FRSNZ

Dean, Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences, University of Auckland